2005-01-04

Down Shift

Man, I haven't worked a whole day in for-fucking-ever and dang if I don't feel like I just made it to base camp on Everest.
Since I spent the morning in an OTC cough syrup haze, the day has dragged on a bit. To say the least. I am counting the seconds before it is acceptable for me to make my hopefully unnoticed exit.
This cracks me up because I almost totaly forgot that 3 weeks ago, I couldn't be here long enough and the days were happening so fast that I was stubmmling over evey inch of them in order to keep up with all that I had to get done. That schedule started in September and didn't slow until now. I totally forgot that I was working like a maniac until two weeks ago and that for the forseeable future, things will be calm and slow.
My industry has a cycle and I am headed into the down-swing but it does take me awhile to change gears. I am going to start riding my bike to work and doing some different things in order to make it more productive and to make the days feel like they are moving faster. I get so busy during the up-months that when the slow ones come crashing into me, I don't know what to do with myself and my sense of urgency.
I feel like I have to run, screaming down the hall "This fax has to get out nowwwwwwwwwww!!!!!" and then returing to my desk and placing one, simple checkmark next to the item on my task list that shows the fax and then admiring my owrk for some time before moving on to the other item on my list of things to do.
I am also seeing ghosts on my phone. Out of the corner of my eye, I keep thinking that I am seeing the incoming call light flash at me. Little green light, areyou teasing me? That's not very nice. Every once in awhile, I'll kind of double-take at my message indicator because I will swear (in my head) that I saw it light up red and that I have a new message and you know, every damn time, I am wrong.
No messages.
No faxes.
No urgent matter to attend to.
Lots of clean-up and organizing that needs to be done.
Lots of booty-kissing and friendship forging needed.
P-Lenty of time to write.

So, I'm gonna shake things up a little and ride my bike to work. I have this vision of me arriving at my desk with my purple back-pack and looking all awesome because of my face being flushed and wind-fresh and my hair being all full of air and stuff. I'll shake off my backpack while I'm changeing my shoes and then head to the bathroom to put on extra deo and a shot of nice perfume and then I'll be that sexy-thing at her cubicle - so healthly, so fresh, so young!
The reality is that I will totally leave way too early and get here at like 6:45 am. I'll then be kind of sweaty and will probably have splashed by a car and instead of being full of air, my hair will be kind of frizzy from the sweat drying.
Oh well.
I'm still doin' it

arizonasarah at 4:16 p.m.

previous | next