2007-06-01

Hello, Bombshell

Today's the day.
Goodbye hair, goodbye for now.

We'll meet again in a few short years but for now, adieu.

This makes me so happy.
I can't wait to look totally different.

I'm really into this fun Boca Raton kind of thing, with pearls and lots of aqua and a strawberry sorbet pink straw bag form Talbot's.
With lots of gold jewelry.

It's not an idea that I've played with ever before so it's totally awesome to be ready to dive into it like as if it was a sparkling pool in Florida owned by my much older Jewish husband.
Who's cool with me not having a tan, despite trying to look like I am headed to lunch at the Boca Raton Resort & Club.

So here's the deal for my hair:
I am tired of having a black pony tail and a brown head. The black has to be cut out, anybody who's ever died their hair black for 4 years knows what I'm talkin' about.

I'm not in the mood for edgy. I had really short edgy hair about 3 years ago, before I grew it all out.
It was adorable but it's not the message I'm feeling.
I'm naturally edgy and I don't think that's something that needs to be emphasized, given the rollerderby, downtown, dog-ownership scene that is my life.

No shag.
There was talk of two inch layers on top.
This talk was silenced because I have to be able to beehive my hair.
It's my favorite thing - a beehive with a headband - and you don't need to have long long hair for that.
But you can't have a shag haircut.
Plus, those always grow into mullets so forget it.

No flip.
For some reason, after I quit cutting my hair like Tiffani Amber Theissen's, I decided that Kelly Roland's hairdo was the one for me.
I know.
TAT was a workable hair-role-model, right?
People said I looked like her, she was a white chick on a white chick TV show, Beverly Hills 90210, and it was pretty obviously a well-chosen celebrity hair mentor.
TAT often had a flippy little hair-do that was just far enough away from being "The Rachel" so as to consistently set me apart from the other frivolous white chicks with TV-inspired hair.
This also meant that there was plenty of flipping up of the ends of my hair.

But then 90210 went off the air and I wasn't really sure what to do.
It was the late 90s and I must have been feeling awfully secure with myself because I decided I could rock the same hair cut as a famously talented Black girl who was about 6 years younger than me.

Kelly Rowlands?
Slim black kid from Destiny's Child?
It made no sense but I loved her hair and my awesome stylist at the time, Lindsay, was supremely awesome and made it happen for me, complete with the deep, dark red streaks.
This haircut also included lots of flipping.

Easily, from 1994-2001, I was flipping up the ends of my hair with a round-brush and a blow-dryer.
I'm over it.
No flipping.

So where does that leave me?
Here's what I told Charlie, who by the way is my FORMER stylist.
But he loves derby.
And he made this sign that's massive and it's all pink and purple and sparkly and it's my name, my name only.
I love it.

So I am putting my hair back in the hands of someone who clearly cares a great deal.

This is the plan:
It has to be sexy.
I don't normally make any effort to emphasize sexy. I play around with trampy looks and I love to vamp it up for games but I don't think about being sexy when I leave the house in the morning.
I want sexy hair.
I want tousled, textured, touchable, short hair.
This is important.
Being able to bee-hive it is important.
Getting off as much of the old black is important.

The rest is going to be me trusting Charlie and coming out on the other side with a dramatically new look that reflects who I am now - a classic bombshell, in every sense of it.

arizonasarah at 8:52 a.m.

previous | next