2009-05-21

Go To Practice

YOU CAN'T SKIP PRACTICE (JUST BECAUSE IT'S OFF-SKATES, RAINING, OR BECAUSE YOU'RE FULL FROM LUNCH.)

On Thursdays and Sundays, I have ten children and every one of them is driving me insane.

"We're doing off-skates for about an hour. Be there."

"Since it's not skating, I am going to go to ______"

"No. Thursdays and Sundays are required, regardless of whether or not there's skating."

"Can we just go to the skating rink?"

"No. We have a game coming up and it's a holiday weekend so people will be out of town Sunday."

"I worked out a lot at work today so I'm gonna skip off-skates."

"No, it's team practice and you need to be there. Show up and do what you can."

"I don't think I'm ready."

"Then remove yourself from the roster so someone who is ready can have a spot."

"I already made eligibility, do I have to go?"

"Yes. Thursdays and Sundays are required."

It's mind-blowing.
I actually feel old fashioned for expecting people to GO TO PRACTICE, every week during the season, which ends in less than a month.

"But it's raining."

"So?"

"I'm having a party tomorrow."

"So?"

"I'm full from lunch."

"?"

"I will skip your activity for something else that I have going on."

"No."

Basically, if you're in town and you do not have a note from your doctor, GO TO PRACTICE.

Don't people want to get better?
Do they think it happens by diffusion?
I'm not in the best mood today but like, how hard does it have to be?

We have had practice on Thursdays for longer than I've been in charge but now I am in charge and I better see your ass there.

arizonasarah at 4:57 p.m.

previous | next